Cat coasters, because you never have enough cat themed stuff around.

I share the love for yarn with many of my real life friends, We share and we discuss many different ideas, patterns and techniques.

In fact, It is not uncommon to send each other pictures to tempt ourselves into prove we can always come up with something new.

My best friend and I also share the love for cats, so when she sent me the picture of these cat coasters I fell in love with them in an instant.

Cat crochet

They were linked to me from a Facebook page, that in its turn redirected to a craft website. The bouncing from website to another wasn’t finsihed. These coasters were indeed featured in the Etsy page of Shanna Compton called hooks and balls.

I think it is important to give people credit for their work, especially if their work inspire you to create something similar.

RIght, now that I had uncovered the origin of the idea I decided to make a different version of it that would suit my taste better (I love the originals but I thought the pink in the centre was too much of a graphic detail). I also decided to make a simplified version of the different colors, maintaining a single color block for each one.

Luckly I had some Stylecraft Classique DK Cotton in the shades of white, orange (Seville) and beige, plus a small amount of some black coton of the same weight.

Making one coaster really does not take much yarn so you could also try and use the leftover you have around. Free your imagination, there are all different sorts of cats in the world, and this is your chance to portray them .

Right, this is what my 4 cats look like.

I free handed the body and the other bits of the black one, as you can see, since it looks a little different from the other three. As I made the black one though, I realized it was a nice quick project that I could write down for you to try your hand on. This is why the other three have a more consistant shape. As usual, I hope you can have fun making them, and let me know if you have any comment or suggestion about the pattern.

Happy crochet!

Use 4 mm crochet hook.

In magic ring work 6 sc.

Round   1          Work 2 sc in each sc (12 sc)

Round   2          Work * 1 sc in next sc, 2 sc in the next sc * repeat ** till end of the round (18 sc)

Round   3          Work * 2 sc in next 2 sc, 2 sc in next sc * repeat ** till end of the round (24 sc)

Round   4          Work * 3 sc in next 3 sc, 2 sc in next sc* repeat ** till end of the round (30 sc)

Round   5          Work * 4 sc in next 4 sc, 2 sc in next sc* repeat ** till the end of the round (36 sc)

Round   6          Work * 5 sc in next 5 sc, 2 sc in next sc* repeat ** till the end of the rond (42 sc)

Round   7          Chain 10, from 2nd chain from hook work 9 hdc, 1 hdc in the next sc (tail)

Round   8          Work 14 sl st in the FLO of next 14 sc

Round   9          Chain 5, from 2nd chain from hook work 4 hdc, 1 hdc in the next sc (leg)

Round   10        Work 7 sl st in the FLO of next 7 sc

Round   11        Chain 5, from 2nd chain from hook work 4 hdc, 1 hdc in the next sc  (leg)

Round   12        Work 20 sl st in the FLO

Round   13        Cast off and weave ends in

 

The tail and the legs chains always start on the first of the 2sc in the same sc of the previous round, the 1 hdc after the ones worked in the chain is worked in the 2nd sc of the 2sc in the same sc of the previous round.

 One more picture of the detail of one of the cats to help you interpret the pattern.

” alt=”” />

 

16 thoughts on “Cat coasters, because you never have enough cat themed stuff around.

  1. Pingback: DIY-Tassenuntersetzer in Katzenform… (aka anatomisch korrektes Häkeln) | Small Space with Cat

  2. Pingback: Cat Themed Crochet Patterns - The Knit Wit by Shair

  3. thank you for posting the cat coaster pattern. I made some for a lady I take care of @ an assisted living facility. She loved them. Thank you !

  4. Reblogged this on and commented:
    I made several of these for friends and they love them! I would probably adhere some cork to the back to make it a little more slip-resistant and help absorb any excess liquid the yarn wouldn’t get.

  5. So I love this pattern. I will be making some of these for my aunt for Christmas who has four cats and each likes to dip their butts in her morning coffee. But so that you get a more round coaster instead of the hexagonal shaped one may I suggest making these alterations to rounds 3-5.

    Round 3: Work * 1 sc in next 1 sc, 2 sc in next sc, 1 sc in next 1 sc * repeat ** till end of the round (24 sc)

    Round 4: Work * 2 sc in next sc, 3 sc in next 3 sc* repeat ** till end of the round (30 sc)

    Round 5: Work * 2 sc in next 2 sc, 2 sc in next sc, 2 sc in next 2 sc* repeat ** till the end of the round (36 sc)

    This way varying up where you put your increase in each round, distributes them more evenly will make the coaster more of a round shape, vs the hexagon.

  6. Pingback: Örgü Kedi Motifli Bardak Altlığı Yapmak | Kendin Yap

Leave a Reply

