Crochet Lace Doilies … Yay or Nay?

In the last days I decided to take out my crochet hook and enjoy the feeling of creating something that wouldn’t weigh a ton.

I had bought a few balls of Rico Design Crochet Essentials cotton and I was itching to explore how it would perform.

I first decided to create some free hand coasters featuring all the colors I had.

This is what I realized with a size 2.00 mm hook.

Doily 1
Doily 2

I am not such a skilled crochet and lace weight always feel intimidating. My only previous experience was a set of four coasters I had made for mum for Christmas… and you know… usually mums never harshly critique the crafted presents they receive from their daughters.

I think the red opaque cotton (which was a leftover found at the bottom of my grandmother stash) was a delight to work with.

heart doily

The pattern of this red coaster is free and provided by Red Heart. I really enjoyed it.

Anyway, I felt it was time to push myself out of my comfort zone, and I selected a little more complicated pattern to do. You can see it on Cylinda Mathews’s Ravelry Page or if you don’t have a Ravelry account you can access it here.

Admittedly it wasn’t an easy ride, even if the instructions were really clear, I blame my little skill.

Overall I am really happy with the result and this project gave me enough confidence to explore more works of this kind.

Big Doily

What about you? Are doilies too old fashioned or you believe they can be spruced up and reinvented into modern fashion?

3 thoughts on “Crochet Lace Doilies … Yay or Nay?

Leave a Reply

