Sun, Spring, Self-discipline !

Rise and shine!
In the last week we were blessed with really sunny days. It is quite a rare event here in England and I learned to appreciate it (coming from Italy, I have suffered quite a lot about the dark and cold of winter months).

I realised that Spring is around the corner and I allowed myself to wonder and dream about all the exciting projects I will soon cast/hook on.

My first thought was to find a new colourful palette to draw inspiration from. During this time of the year, thanks to the first warm weather, I feel like I just want to work with cotton yarn.
Thanks to my local yarn shop in Lichfield (The Sewing Shop) I always have a wide choice of yarn to choose from.
My own personal Spring 2014 colour palette features my favourite cotton yarn: Stylecraft Classique!

My selection for this Spring projects!

I have way so many ideas and pattern in mind and I really cannot wait to start creating something new.

I personally didn’t consider working with bright colours before, but since I saw some of the projects on Let’s Get Crafting! Knitting & Crochet magazine I totally changed my mind. I now feel daring!
From their issue #52 I already realised a couple of patterns. You can see one of them on my Ravelry page, it is called Geometric Cushion a design of Lucinda Ganderton.

On my list there are projects like this wonderful Placemat and Coaster designed by Tamara Kelly

I also fell in love with Oscar the Owl by Amanda Berry that is also featured in #52 of Let’s Get Crafting! Knitting & Crochet. Isn’t it simply adorable?

Yes this Spring crafting will be dedicated to decorative home items…but all this will have to wait a little bit longer.
I committed myself to a big project that has to be delivered before the end of the month (if you are curious you can find it in my WIP section), and until that one is finished I cannot really begin a new one.

I think it is the crafter curse… you start a project that you love and while you are still doing it, your mind comes up with many other creative ideas for a thousand more projects.

So SELF-DISCIPLINE is required… no new projects until the blanket is done! I will try really hard to stick with it as the blanket really means a lot to me and to the commissioner.

In the meanwhile I finally found a good use for the Cable Bag I knitted last September while I was on holiday.

The pattern is from Vogueknitting and you can find it in here, you just need to register to their website.

If any of you wants to share their Spring/Summer projects I will be happy to read about it, I love to see what my fellow crafters come up with.

Leave a Reply

