Presents are always welcome, not only at Christmas.

One of the reasons why I enjoy my crochet-knitting so much is that it allows me to create something unique for my family and friends.
Handmade presents speak directly from the heart, and when they are unexpected, the look of surprise and joy on people’s faces is the biggest rewards of all.
This last Christmas it has been a yarn celebration. I had planned all the projects and I started to craft in October, but on December 23rd I was still putting the finish touches to the last project.
I know many other knitters will relate.

Anyway, as the holiday season passed I collected my yarn and set off for new wolly adventures.

I recently found out that one of my friends back in Italy was expecting (a baby girl!) and, since I love knitting baby garments I decided it was time for a new project.
I was at The Sewing Shop for the monthly Knit-ad-natter meeting (they host all sorts of workshops and work groups) and I fell in love with this yarn.

Smooth - King Cole

It is called King Cole – Smooth and it was a bliss working with it.
I opted to make a simple plain cardigan in order to compensate the multi color texture deriving from the yarn itself. I created a topdown pattern that would fit a baby 3-6 months old. This is the result.
unnamed

I am planning to put the pattern on Ravelry once I will have the time to write it down properly… at the moment it appears to be just a multitude of weird looking scribbles and drawings.
It was a fun project and the reaction of my friend, when she got it in the mail, was priceless. Surprise and happiness at pure state, it really warmed my heart.

As many other crafters, I never work only one project at the time. I always have a knitting project and a crochet one casted on at the same time.
This time, however, I had two knitting projects going along.

This second one was a long overdue promise I made. My friend (and PhD collegue) Fabiana had asked me back in September to make her a replica of her favourite fingerless gloves, since her pair was falling to pieces.
I felt terrible for being so late on delivery… so I really urged myself to work hard and fast for this one.
It was a simple pattern to create, but even if so, it was my first pair of gloves, so I was a bit nervous.
Two weeks later I managed to finish them. Here they are in all their glory (click here for the Ravelry link).

20140227_085816-1_wm

They are on their way towards Manchester, so I cannot tell you if they were exactly like she wanted them…
Luckly (?) here in England the weather is still keeping us in the cold cold weather, so she will be able to test them soon enough.

Leave a Reply

